Awards, Prizes and Challenges

EURO organizes a number of Prizes and Awards. Some other organizations and groups have put forward some challenges. Find all the relevant information below.


Awards, Prizes and Challenges in the schedule



July 8



July 9


July 10


July 11

Morning A

MA 08:30-10:00


TA 08:30 -10:00


WA 08:30 -10:00

Coffee break

10:00 – 10:30

10:00 – 10:30

10:00 – 10:30

Morning B

MB 10:30-12:00

TB 10:30-12:00


WB 10:30-12:00



12:00 – 12:30

12:00 – 12:30

12:00 – 12:30

Midday C

MC 12:30-14:00


TC 12:30-14:00

WC 12:30-14:00

14:00 – 20:00

Registration open

14:00 – 14:30

14:00 – 14:30

14:00 – 14:30

Afternoon D

MD 14:30-16:00

TD 14:30-16:00

WD 14:30-16:00

EthOR Award 2018

(EWG on Ethics and OR)

Coffee break

16:00 – 16:30

16:00 – 16:30

Afternoon E

ME 16:30-17:30


16:30 – 17:30

Bus transfer to CAC

17:30 – 19:00

Opening session

EGM 2018

EDSM 2018

17:45 – 19:00

Women in Science event

TE 18:00-19:00


WE 17:30-18:30


Welcome party


Gala dinner

18:45 – 20:00

Closing session

EDDA 2018

EEPA 2018

EABEP 2018

Closing party

EURO Gold Medal (EGM 2018)

The EURO Gold Medal (EGM) is the highest distinction within OR in Europe. The award is conferred on a prominent person or team or institution, for an outstanding contribution to the OR science. The award will be officially bestowed at the opening plenary session.

Members of the 2018 Jury:

  • Luk Van Wassenhove (France) – chair
  • Grazia Speranza (Italy)
  • Marielle Christiansen (Norway)
  • Juan José Salazar González (Spain)
  • David Lane (UK)

EURO Distinguished Service Medal Award (EDSM 2018)

The EURO Distinguished Service Medal is awarded for recognition of distinguished service to the Association of European OR Societies (EURO) and to the profession of OR. The award will be officially presented at the opening session.

Members of the 2018 Jury:

  • Ulrike Leopold-Wildburger (Austria) – chair
  • Roman Słowiński (Poland)
  • Pascale Zaraté (France)
  • Sally Brailsford (UK)
  • Hans Ittmann (South Africa)

EURO Doctoral Dissertation Award (EDDA 2018)

The purpose of the EURO Doctoral Dissertation Award is to distinguish an outstanding doctoral dissertation in Operational Research, defended in the countries having an OR society that is a member of EURO. Three finalists will present their work at a special session during the conference.

2018 Finalists:

  • Maria Margarida da Silva Carvalho: Computation of Equilibria on Integer Programming Games
  • Martin Luipersbeck: Large-scale Network Optimization: Steiner Tree Problems
  • Maximilian Schiffer: Logistics Networks with Intermediate Stops – Designing Innovative and Green Solutions

The award will be presented to the winner at the closing session.

Members of the 2018 Jury:

  • Richard Hartl (Austria) – chair
  • Bernardo Almada-Lobo (Portugal)
  • Hande Yaman (Turkey)
  • Jutta Geldermann (Germany)
  • Julia Bennell (UK)

EURO Excellence in Practice Award (EEPA 2018)

The EURO Excellence in Practice award is for the best submission and presentation describing an application of Operational Research in practice. This year there are six finalists will who will present their work during special sessions during the conference.

2018 Finalists:

  • Martin Bichler, Douglas Ferrell, Vladimir Fux, Jacob Goeree: A Combinatorial Exchange for Fishery Access Rights
  • Guillermo Durán (University of Buenos Aires), Mario Guajardo (NHH Norwegian School of Economics), Denis Sauré: Scheduling the South American Qualifiers to the 2018 FIFA World Cup by Integer Programming
  • Valentina Ferretti, Elisa Gandino: Operational Research as a Driver for Rural Regeneration
  • Martina Fischetti, Jesper Runge Kristoffersen, Michele Monaci, David Pisinger: The OR Revolution in Vattenfall BA Wind
  • David C. Lane, Eileen Munro, Elke Husemann: Blending Systems Thinking Approaches for Organisational Analysis: Reviewing Child Protection in England
  • Sascha Wörz, Michael Schmid, Heinz Bernhardt: An Efficient Algorithm for Milk Transport Logistic Optimization Developed for the Dairy Industry enterprise Zott SE & Co. KG

The award will be presented to the winner(s) at the closing session.

Members of the 2018 Jury:

  • Ulrich Dorndorf (Germany) – chair
  • Erik Demeulemeester (Belgium)
  • John Poppelaars (The Netherlands)
  • Adam Ouorou (France)
  • Karl Dörner (Austria)

EURO Award for the Best EJOR Paper (EABEP 2018)

EURO has three annual awards available for papers published by EJOR: best survey paper; best application paper; and best theory/methodology paper. Winners for each category have been selected by a jury and these awards will be presented at the closing session.

Members of the 2018 Jury:

  • Stein Wallace (Norway) – chair
  • Ana Barbosa-Povoa (Portugal)
  • Stavros Zenios (Cyprus)
  • Robert Dyson (UK)
  • Stefan Røpke (Denmark)

ROADEF/EURO Challenge 2018

Thanks to the success of the previous challenges, the French Operational Research and Decision Support Society (ROADEF) is organizing jointly with the Association of European Operational Research Societies (EURO) the ROADEF/EURO challenge 2018-2019 dedicated to cutting optimization problem in collaboration with Saint-Gobain Group.

Saint-Gobain Glass Industry (SGGI), part of the Saint-Gobain Group, is one of the world’s leading flat glass manufacturers. It specializes in float glass manufacture and magnetron coated glass producing an array of glass types with different functions: transparency, thermal and acoustic insulation, safety, solar control, decoration, self-cleaning functions, etc. The products are intended for a wide variety of domestic and commercial applications including housing equipment (windows, bay windows, and interior design), facade, urban development and the realization of major projects.

The problem objective is to reduce the glass loss for a given ordered bin set and a given item batch to cut.

A special session will be organized for the Challenge and the sprint winners will be announced during the closing session of EURO 2018. Final winners will be announced in 2019 at EURO Dublin, and last but not least, the overall amount of price is 45 000 €. It’s time to register.

Este sitio web utiliza cookies para mejorar la experiencia de usuario. Si continúa navegando está dando su consentimiento para la aceptación de las mencionadas cookies. Verpolítica de cookies

Aviso de cookies